Spinach Pesto Trottole

I’ve never had trottole before so I thought I’d give it a whirl to see how it is, texture-wise. It looks like a really long macaroni and it feels like you’re eating just that. Strange, but yummy. In other words, I’m an instant fan.

And it’s pretty obvious that spinach is my go-to vegetable. I eat it more than any other veggie in existence. Yet, believe it or not, I’ve never had spinach pesto either. About time I made some.

And dagnabit! I am impressed! Wow! I vow to make it again here very soon.

Ingredients (2 servings):
1/2 lb. Trottole Pasta (or any pasta you want)
A couple handfuls of Fresh Organic Baby Spinach
Red Pepper Flakes (optional)

For Pesto:
1 lightly packed cup of Fresh Organic Baby Spinach
1/2 lightly packed cup of fresh Basil
1/4 cup toasted Pine Nuts (or walnuts)
1/4 cup Grated Parmesan Cheese
2 Garlic Cloves
1 tbs. Grated Lemon Zest
1 tbs. Fresh Lemon Juice
Salt & Pepper, to taste
1/4 EVOO

Directions:
Cook pasta to al dente. Meanwhile, put all the pesto ingredients, except for the EVOO, in a food processor. Slowly pour in the EVOO while lightly pulsing the machine until you have a creamy mixture.

Blend pasta with pesto in a large bowl. Mix in the other cup of spinach and sprinkle with red pepper flakes, if you want.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    trialsinfood said,

    That looks really delicious! Love the colors!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

