Forbidden Rice Bowl

Well, it’s a rice bowl and of course, you can put anything in it. This is tonight’s concoction, I guess. I just saw a bag of this so-called heirloom forbidden rice at the store this afternoon. I’ve never had it before and I was curious. Apparently, it’s of Chinese origin so I immediately thought of a quick stir-fry to go with it for dinner tonight.

I already have a half-opened box of roasted pistachio nuts at home and knew I wanted to use some of it, as opposed to cashew or whatever. So I just grabbed some scallions, mushrooms and an orange. An orange? I guess I was thinking orange chicken or something like that. I guess we’ll find out.

Wow, how refreshing! No meat but quite filling. The rice has a nutty personality to it, like brown rice. It’s supposed to be sticky but I only cooked it with 1 part rice and 1 3/4 part liquid instead of the usual 1:2 ratio. So it was leaning more towards al dente. Anyway, good stuff.

Ingredients (serves 2):
1 cup Heirloom Forbidden Rice
1 pkg Cremini Mushrooms, slivered
1/2 cup Roasted Pistachio Nuts
1 doz Cherry Tomatoes, halved
2-3 Garlic Cloves, minced
2 tbs. scallions, chopped
1 Orange
4 tbs Oyster Sauce
2 tbs Canola Oil
Salt & Pepper

Directions:
Cook rice to package direction. When it’s done cooking, leave the lid on for another 30 minutes before digging in.

Meanwhile, saute garlic and mushroom with oil in a large pan on medium heat for a couple of minutes. Fold in oyster sauce, tomatoes and pistachio nuts until well combined. Salt and pepper to taste (easy on the salt as the oyster sauce is already quite salty). Turn off the heat and squeeze the juice of an orange.

Fluff the rice and scoop in serving bowls. Top with stir-fry. Grate some zest from the orange and sprinkle with scallions to garnish. Enjoy.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    emmycooks said,

    That is absolutely gorgeous! Another thing I like to do with black sticky rice is make a coconut milk rice pudding–but your approach is certainly healthier. :)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

