Grilled Eggplant with Salsa Caprese

I watch PBS a lot mainly for the cooking shows. This recipe came from one of those shows, called Primal Grill. The guy usually does meat but every once in a while he’ll throw in a little vegetarian treat. Not that I’m a vegetarian (there’s mozzarella in here) but I do enjoy a good veggie dish. Especially if it feeds my eyes, as well. This particular one, I saw and was inspired to imitate. I don’t really follow recipes. I couldn’t, even if I tried. But I like to get a wide perspective on how one prepares a dish and then I’ll go try it out with whatever I have in the fridge. And usually, I get lucky and come up with some tasty treats. Not to mention, healthy too.

Ingredients: Eggplant, Roma Tomatoes, Fresh Mozzarella, Basil Leaves, Garlic, Olive Oil, Balsamic Vinegar, Salt & Pepper

Directions: Slice eggplants into strips and score both sides. Brush with olive oil and season with herbs, etc. Start grilling. Meanwhile, dice tomatoes and mozarella. Mince garlic and chop basil. Combine all in a bowl, drizzle with olive oil, balsamic vinegar. Salt and pepper to taste. Mix well. When done grilling, layer eggplant pieces on a plate and top with the Caprese mixture. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

