Leave my coffee alone

Okay, so I’ve been on a healthy binge lately. But why do my coffee have to get in the way of this now? I even had a friend tell me the fact that a cup of coffee contains only 4 calories. Yeah! I was fired up, for sure. But wait? I brew my coffee in a French Press while a large majority uses the drip method still. I’ve been using the press for 15 years now and haven’t turned my back on this low-tech flavor wonder since.

A week ago, I stumbled on this article on a website that suddenly pooped on my party. Yet, I’m afraid it made sense and that I failed to realize this early on! It was saying that using the press method to brew coffee raises bad cholesterol levels because there is no filter to catch the oils that are extracted from the beans. Yep! You get everything, alright. Maximum flavor, character depth, creaminess and you guessed it… bad cholesterol. Great! Just great! For a few days I toyed around with the thought of giving it up and dusting off the ol’ Black n Decker and its permanently stained carafe.

But I had to take a breather and try to look at the big picture first. I work so hard, I thought! Why can’t I get a little play time? Yeah, why not?

So, I say… leave my coffee alone! It’s okay. I drink one 12 oz mug every morning and no more. I read that for coffee to affect your cholesterol level, you have to be drinking 6 to 8 cups or more everyday, for a long time. I am far from that, thank goodness. And so, if you’ll excuse me… I’ve got this brand new organic fair trade French Roast I’m dying to try out.

Leave a Reply

