Stuck in the Mâche Pit

At the grocery store this afternoon, I was going to pick up a box of baby spinach when I noticed this one, right beside it.

What in the world is Mâche Rosette, I thought.

Kinda shows the extent of my veggie vocabulary, doesn’t it? Well, it sure didn’t take much for me to decide to pick it up instead of the spinach. I mean, look at it! It does resemble the baby spinach but a lot smaller. It just looked fantastic. I know I’ll be in for a treat with this one.

On my way home, I couldn’t wait any longer that I opened the box in my car and started munching on a bunch just to see how it tasted. Man oh man, was I in green heaven or what? It does have that spinach personality to it but I think I like it even more. It’s a lot milder and a bit nutty in flavor. I swear you don’t even need anything else to go with it. Heck, not even dressing, in fact.

So, here it is. I’ve made a uhh… Mâche Pit, if you will, and I’m trying to figure out a way to make it rock even more than it already does. How about a little grilled chicken with shitake and sesame oil? Or a few pieces of blood oranges with red wine vinaigrette. Maybe I should go back to the store and grab a bag of frisée to add to it. I don’t know.

Well, this ain’t gonna last long before it goes bad. If anybody has had it before, your suggestions would be very much appreciated. Thank you.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Ashley said,

    use it for BLTs! it’s the most amazing thing ever. and throw some cheddar on there with it.

  2. 3

    Urs said,

    This is our standard salad in Switzerland. We call it nut salad (Nüssli Salat). It is usually served with oil vinigar sauce or creamy french dressing with diced egg sprinkled on top. I’ve also had it with sauted warm mushroom on top – very yummy! cheers from Switzerland Urs


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

