Biscuits & Gravy

Unfortunately, most of what I consider comfort foods aren’t very comforting to my conscience, especially now that I’m trying to be health conscious. Lately, I’ve been trying to figure out ways to make an unhealthy favorite healthier but at the same time, not have to sacrifice the comfort factor. I must admit, I haven’t been successful in many ways. However, I accidentally lucked out on one occasion. Well, this morning, in fact.

I didn’t think of making biscuits and gravy anytime soon as I have been staying away from fatty food, these days. I was at the store yesterday and was about to grab a carton of soy milk when I noticed some half and half. These were different and it got my attention. It says “Fat-Free Half & Half.” Now, pardon my ignorance but what in the world is a fat-free half & half? Sounded like an oxymoron to me. But I couldn’t help but think of the possibilities. Hmmm…

Needless to say, biscuits and gravy is what came to my mind, at that instant. This is my excuse, I thought. My way out. But wait, I don’t know if I can trust it, yet. How would it taste? And will the consistency be the same? Only one way to find out, I guess. So, I went ahead and grabbed a pint, some frozen biscuits (no, I’m not gonna bother making this on my own) and extra lean ground turkey. Hey, guess what I had for breakfast this morning?

Well, I’ll be darned! I didn’t really notice any difference in taste. It was still as decadent as ever. In fact, too decadent that I thought… Well, why did I even bother when I could’ve just used vegetable stock to make my gravy? Haaa!!

But that’s for another blog post… and a different recipe.

Ingredients: Buttermilk Biscuits, Extra Lean Ground Turkey (or, go all out with Pork Sausage), Fat-Free Half & Half, All-Purpose Flour, Olive Oil, Salt & Pepper

Directions: Bake the frozen biscuits according to package directions. Meanwhile, saute ground turkey, season with salt & pepper and set aside. Now, make a roux using oil and flour then pour in some half & half. Stir until bubbly and thickened. Mix the ground turkey back in. On a plate, serve biscuits smothered with gravy!

Leave a Reply

