Kitchenware makeover

A few months ago, I was cooking some kind of gravy on my old non-stick pan and noticed for the first time that the edge was flaking off and the flakes were getting mixed in with the food. Not only was the sight horrific but so was the thought that this had been going on for a very long time and that I only began to notice just now. Right away, I threw out the gravy and quickly got on the web to research the best kitchenware I could afford. That’s right, it’s time for a kitchenware makeover.

For days, I read blogs, forums, product reviews, you name it. I wanted to invest on something I don’t have to throw away in just a few years. I don’t mind shelling out a few bucks more for something that does not need a whole lot of babying, either. But a lot of what I read out there tells me that All-Clad and Demeyere are the way to go. I’ve seen these and they are built like a tank, for sure. Very tempting. But, excuse me? A $500 frying pan? Do I really need a Rolls Royce? If I’m a pro working in a fast-paced kitchen, making my living off of cooking, heck yeah, I’d go all out. But I actually have the luxury of  taking it easy and avoiding unnecessary banging, clanging and dropping of my pots and pans. I hand wash all of them and never put them in the dishwasher. However, sturdiness and long-term reliability are still an important factor, regardless.

So, I chucked all of my non-sticks and headed to Bed Bath & Beyond. But I really couldn’t justify paying too much when I know there’s something else out there that’s a little less but will the do job for me, just the same. The lady was actually nice enough to suggest that I go next door to Kohl’s as they might have something that’s just right for me. So I went to Kohl’s and was surprised to see a complete line of Food Network kitchenware. Whoa! A TV network with its own line of kitchen gadgetry? I wasn’t so sure at first. But with close inspection, I could tell there’s quality in there that’s never going to be seen in Walmart.

Well, after an hour of futzing around, I was down to a couple of choices. I knew I was going to stay far far away from regular non-stick and that copper is way out of my budget. Cast iron is cool but talk about a big baby! As heavy and sturdy as it is, you still gotta do all this seasoning and re-seasoning. And you can only wash it with water, and you have to dry it by hand and wah wah wah!

Anyway, now it was down to either stainless steel or hard-anodized. I picked the hard-anodized pans for convenience’s sake. I got two of those. I like stainless steel, I actually have an older 12″ Emerilware stainless steel pan with copper lining that rocks. But it’s just a pain to clean, sometimes. I also got a stainless steel pot and an enamel coated cast iron dutch oven that I just love to death!

It’s been about four months since, and I am still in love with these pots and pans. They’re still looking brand new even when I have been cooking almost everyday. And now that I’m a little more knowledgeable about these products, I am looking forward to caring for them and seeing them through years and years of joyous kitchen adventures.

Or maybe, I should just start saving for a Demeyere set now. Never say never…

Leave a Reply

