Mâche Rosette Salad

Ever since I found out about mâche, I’ve been using it a lot. Seriously, I like this better than spinach. And mind you, I love love love spinach! But the mache’s flavor is so versatile and mild you can use it in pretty much everything from salads to soups to plain munching it by itself. Heck, it’s even pretty enough to use for garnish!

Here’s a salad I made for lunch today with simple ingredients like grapes, black walnuts and leftover sausage pieces. It’s very good with a fruit based dressing. I ran out of mango dressing so I used raspberry vinaigrette on this one.

Also, as you notice in the photo, I added some blackberries but found it to be unnecessary since it was hopelessly competing  with the grapes whose flavor is overpowering. It looks pretty but I would omit the berries next time and simply let the grapes shine (and compliment the mache) on their own.

Ingredients: Mâche Rosettes (or baby spinach, if you can’t find any), Grapes, Black Walnuts, Diced Leftover Meat (optional), Fruit-Based Dressing, Fresh Ground Pepper

Directions: In a salad bowl, coat mache rosettes with dressing and a little ground pepper. Transfer to a serving plate and top with everything else.

Leave a Reply

