Blackberry Walnut Slump

Ten packs of blackberries for ten buck? What a deal, right? After all, they’re usually four bucks a pop. Yeah, that is until I was eating blackberries for breakfast and dessert for over a week straight! Finally, I was like… Is there any other way I can use the rest of them? Really? Because frankly, I’d like to have something else for breakfast now. Well, I stumbled on a basic slump recipe on Epicurious and thought I’d use that to get rid of blackberry traces in my fridge, once and for all! Oh, and I discovered one more package of walnuts left in the pantry, as well. Hmmm. Everything else, I still have in good quantity… so, off I went to preheat the oven and prep.

Since I’m not that well versed in baking (yet), I opted to stay as close as possible to the original formula lest I end up with burnt rubber. The only thing I did differently was that I added walnuts and replaced the butter with a couple tablespoons of olive oil. Oh, and I also added a teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. That’s more than pushing it, I thought. But, oh well…

Hmmm… not too shabby for a neophyte baker, I tell ya! Though, I thought it would’ve been really fabulous with ice cream. But I don’t have any at the moment. Maybe I’ll stop by the store tomorrow and grab a quart. I said… maybe!

Ingredients:
3 6oz packs of Blackberries
1/2 cup Walnuts
1 cup Unbleached Flour
1 cup Organic Raw Cane Sugar
1 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
1/4 tsp Salt
3/4 cup Low-Fat Milk
2 Tbs. Olive Oil
1 tbs. Pure Vanilla Extract

Directions: Preheat oven to 375F. Rinse blackberries in tap water, pat dry with paper towel and spread around a 6-cup gratin dish. Sprinkle 3/4 cup sugar evenly and reserve the rest for the batter mixture. In a mixing bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients and whisk until evenly distributed. Pour mixture on top of the blackberries and bake in oven for about 40 minutes or until top is golden. Allow to rest and cool for 20 minutes before serving. Garnish with a sprig of mint. Serve warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Leave a Reply

