Not-So-Humble Pie

Here’s my accidental take on the ol’ classic cottage pie. It’s supposed to be some kind of peasant food from a long time ago, made with humble ingredients. But since the ingredients I have at hand are all I have at the moment, I have to make do with them so nothing goes to waste.

Well, let’s see. I’ve got a little more bison meat leftover from a couple dishes I made earlier. A large russet potato that’s been sitting around for too long now. And a few more things in the fridge and pantry enough to make me some tasty peasant pie.

I’ve seen a lot of shepherd’s/cottage pie recipes and the one thing they seem to have in common besides the meat and potatoes, is the Worcestershire sauce. But I don’t have any right now and I’m not about to run to the store just for that. So, I simply used Liquid Smoke as a substitute. And, man oh man! Well, I’m just gonna let you try it for yourself!

I’m not gonna tell you how to make mashed potato. I’m sure you already know how to do it and you probably even have your own favorite recipe. Mine was roasted garlic-flavored with a little milk and butter substitute. Very simple but it works for me. Okay, here’s how I put everything together…

Ingredients (for 2 servings):
1 large Potato (and everything else you need to make your own mashed potato)
1/3 – 1/2 lb. ground meat (beef, turkey, bison, etc.)
1/2 cup Frozen Peas & Carrots (thawed in microwave, liquid strained)
1/2 cup Finely Diced Mushrooms
1/2 can Cream Corn
1 Minced Shallot (or 1/2 onion)
2-3 Minced Garlic Cloves
Olive Oil
Breadcrumbs
Shredded/Grated Parmesan
Brown Gravy (homemade or store bought)
Parsley (optional)
French Fried Onions (optional)

Directions:
Make your own mashed potato the way you want it and set aside. Preheat oven to 375F.

Brown the meat with a little oil in a skillet. When almost done, add the garlic, shallot and mushrooms and stir until meat is cooked through. Add the frozen peas & carrots and stir one last time.

Using a gratin dish (or 2 smaller ones for single serving), spread a bed of the meat mixture and sprinkle some parmesan cheese. Now, add a layer of mashed potato on top and sprinkle with more parmesan and breadcrumbs to fully cover the top. Stick in the oven for 40 minutes or until the top is golden brown and bubbly. Serve straight from the dish or transfer to a plate. If you want, garnish with parsley and French fried onions. Serve with brown gravy on the side.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kim said,

    Chris, that looks AMAZING! Talk about comfort food for a cold night? I am certainly going to try this one this weekend! YUMMY!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

