Huevos Rancheros

You’ve been good all week with a steady diet of granola and berries and rice milk. Well, it’s time for your reward. In my case, it’s a hefty meal I’ve been wanting to cook for a long time now. But this time, I wanted to do it my way and go with what’s available in the pantry. I don’t know about you but I get hungry quickly, so I wanted something simple and quick.

My version of Huevos Rancheros definitely delivers, in no time. It took me 10 minutes to whip it up! I only had to grab a bag of tortillas from the store and I was all set. And since this dish is rich, I tried to make sure that I was using health-conscious ingredients without sacrificing one bit of flavor.

Obviously, if you have homemade chilli sitting around, use it instead. I was just trying to come up with something quick and easy.

Ingredients (2 servings):
4 medium-sized Flour Tortilla (I used Mission Life Balance)
1 cup Chili (I used Stagg Turkey Ranchero Chili)
1/2 cup good quality Salsa
1/4 cup Cilantro, finely chopped
1/2 cup shredded Mexican Blend Cheese
2 Eggs
1 Lime
Tapatio Hot Sauce
Tortilla Chips (I used Blue Corn)

Direction:
In a large skillet, combine chili, salsa and cilantro. Bring to medium heat until bubbly. Drop the eggs on the mixture and sprinkle with shredded cheese. Cover and allow eggs to poach, about 4-5 minutes.

Meanwhile, warm tortillas in the microwave for a few seconds. Lay on each plate two tortillas, then top with one egg and smother with chili mixture. Add a dash of hot sauce and a squirt of lime juice. Garnish with a lime wedge and more cilantro leaves. Serve with tortilla chips on the side.

Leave a Reply

