Chili Spaghetti

This is my own take on the classic Cincinnati Chili. Well yes, I’ve never been to Cincinnati but I know I’ve had chili spaghetti for as long as I can remember. And the truth is, just like BBQ, chili is a matter of personal (or regional) preference. I don’t know about you but I’m not that picky about it and I’ve so far enjoyed every version of chili I’ve ever had. Even some of the canned ones, in fact.

Now, my take on this dish is in the pasta preparation. I dress my spaghetti so it’s not so bland and dry. Adding the raw olive oil and fresh herbs makes a big difference and it brings a more sophisticated flavor. Use good quality olive oil on this one.

Chili Spaghetti

Ingredients (2 servings):
1/2 lb. Spaghetti
1 cup good quality Chili with Beans
1/2 cup shredded Cheese
1/2 cup finely chopped Onions
1/2 cup Parsley, finely chopped
Good Quality Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper
Hot Sauce

Directions:
Cook spaghetti to al dente. Drain water and coat with olive oil. Mix in parsley (leave a little for garnish later) and salt & pepper to taste. Set aside.

In a medium-heated skillet, saute onions with a little olive oil until translucent. Add in the chili with beans and mix until well incorporated and hot. If it’s too thick, add a little water or broth. You want the mixture to have a marinara sauce-like consistency.

Transfer spaghetti to a bowl or plate and top with chili mixture. Sprinkle with shredded cheese and more parsley. Drizzle with a little more olive oil. Serve with hot sauce, if you want.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Amateur Cook said,

    That looks divine!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

