Blueberry Walnut Crumble

So, I got me a big thing of blueberries. Heck, two of them! Why not? It’s on sale for like two bucks each, right? But almost a week has gone by and I still haven’t figured out what to use them for. Yep, I did add a couple pieces to my cereal yesterday but I really do not like them as much as I do raspberries on my cereal. But… that’s just me!

However, time is of the essence now and I gotta get rid of these before they go bad on me. Now let’s see… what do I have around to cook with? Flour? Check. Sugar? Check. Butter? Check. Hey, I’ve done this before! Sorta. Okay, let’s go…

About an hour later…

Mmmm! Let me tell ya… do you like chewy cookies? Then you’ll love what I’ve concocted here. Super simple, too! The texture is just like those Toll House cookies. Crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Combine that with sloppy blueberry goodness? Mmm, mmm, mmm! Who cares how it looks like? It’s rustic! Wink, wink!

Ingredients (8 servings):
24oz Blueberries, washed
1/2 cup Walnuts, finely chopped
1 Lemon
4 tbs. Unsalted Butter, softened
4 tbs. EVOO
1/2 tsp. Natural Sea Salt
2 tsp. Pure Vanilla Extract
1 cup Raw Cane Sugar
1 1/2 cups Unbleached All-Purpose Flour

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375F.

In a non-stick 9″ square gratin dish, toss to combine blueberries, salt, vanilla and lemon juice.

In a mixing bowl, make streusel by combining flour, sugar, walnuts, EVOO and butter. Use your hand or a hand mixer to mix until crumbly. Make sure the flour is completely wet and no powdery area is exposed. Pinch any visible powdery area.

Evenly cover the berries with the streusel topping.

Pop in the oven for 30 minutes or until top is golden brown. Let cool for 30 minutes. Enjoy with ice cream or milk.

Leave a Reply

