Catfish Korma

Oh man! Being sick an entire week and unable to enjoy real food is just too much to handle. So, move over progresso! I’m taking over the kitchen.

Right now, here’s another attempt at making Indian-style curry. That’s right. After making the tikka masala, I wanted to try a different kind. And yesterday, I stumbled on some recipes that used coconut milk instead of regular heavy cream. Sounds interesting, I thought. I usually use coconut milk on Thai curries but since I love it a lot, I was pretty sure it would do just as well on pretty much anything else. And sure enough…

I just made this up based on a combination of different recipes I found. Most of them used chicken but being the rebel that I am, I used fish instead. And I really love the coconut milk! Mmm mmm mmm!

Also, I happened to have some leftover tomatoes and eggplant, so I used those for sides. Worked for me.

Ingredients (4 servings):
2 big Catfish Filets
Canola Oil
1 Onion, finely diced
1 tbs Fresh Ginger, minced
6 Cloves Garlic, minced
2 tbs Tomato Paste
Salt & Pepper
3 tbs Curry Powder
1 tbs. Garam Masala
1 cup Chicken Stock
1 1/2 cup Coconut Milk
Chopped Scallions or Cilantro

Directions:
In a medium-high heated dutch oven, drizzle some oil and sear the filets for a couple of minutes on each side. When both sides are browned, transfer to a plate and set aside.

Reduce heat to medium. Add a little more oil and sauté the onions until tender, 5 minutes or so. Add ginger and garlic, and continue cooking for another couple of minutes. Add the tomato paste, curry powder and garam masala. Stir for about 5 minutes. Pour in coconut milk and chicken stock and stir until well combined. Salt & Pepper to taste.

Reduce heat to low. Put the filets back in and smother with sauce. Let simmer uncovered for about 10 minutes. The liquid will reduce a little and will concentrate the flavor.

Adjust seasoning accordingly. Garnished with cilantro or scallions. Serve with basmati rice.

Leave a Reply

