Grilled Ribeye with Gorgonzola Compound Butter

Summer is in full swing and so is my backyard grill. I like the taste of grilled food so I’ve been using it a lot lately. Besides, I get to keep my indoor kitchen clean for longer periods of time.

Anyway, I stopped by the butcher yesterday and asked him what the best cut of meat is for grilling. Before I could finish my sentence, he quickly snapped… RIBEYE! And that matter-of-fact look on his face was enough to make me drool in my mind.

So yeah, here’s what I had for lunch today (I couldn’t wait til dinner). Simple to prepare, yet deep in taste. And talk about tender! It was breaking into pieces as I lifted it off the grill!

Oh, and I have to confess that I’m hooked on Liquid Smoke. Hey, I’m not a purist but I’m a big fan of smoke flavor. And the bottled stuff may not be a complete substitute for the smoker but it sure passes the test for not having me wait 24 hours for my meal.

Ingredients (serves 2):
14-16 oz. Ribeye
1 tsp. Liquid Smoke
Course Sea/Kosher Salt
Fresh Cracked Black Pepper
3 tbs. Unsalted Butter, room temp
1 oz. crumbled Gorgonzola

Direction:
Make the gorgonzola compound butter at least a couple hours ahead. Combine gorgonzola, unsalted butter (in room temp) and a few cracks of fresh black pepper in a small bowl and mix well. Cover bowl tightly with a sheet of plastic wrap. Keep in the fridge until hardened and ready to use.

If you have to, completely thaw the meat in the fridge first. Then, brush it with liquid smoke and generously sprinkle with salt and pepper. Leave it out until it reaches room temperature. About an hour or two.

Preheat the grill to super screaming hot (550F)! Make sure the steak is dry at this time, otherwise, pat dry before cooking. Place the meat on the grill and close the cover. Cook for about 3.5 minutes per side (may have to adjust according to your grill). This should be perfect medium rare.

Transfer steak to a serving plate and quickly top with a dab of the gorgonzola compound butter. Cover with a tent of foil and allow butter to melt for about 10 minutes. Serve with sides of your choice. I’d recommend curving your guilt with a ton of veggies. 🙂

Leave a Reply

