Frog in the Bog

My former English neighbour used to come to my house after I get home from work to let me know how my dog had been barking all day long. She didn’t seem so thrilled about it. Yet she was still kind enough to share with me some of her comfort foods from back in the old world, which included a pie called Toad in the Hole. However, she warned… if the Yorkshire pudding doesn’t puff up, I’d have to call it Frog in the Bog. Well, there ya go, mate! Frog in the bog, it is.

But, come on… who cares? It’s fantastic! The Yorkshire pudding may not have risen much but it’s still one heck of a pie, I think. But then, what do I know? It’s the first time I’d made it.

I used Irish pork sausages that I sliced into smaller pieces so they’re more manageable. Same Yorkshire pudding recipe as anyone’s, give or take. They say the pan has to be very hot. It was screaming hot, the kitchen was full of smoke. I think it’s because I didn’t want it to be oily so I drained pretty much all of the oil in the pan before I poured in the batter.

I don’t know! All I know is that it’s good. And that’s all that matters. Right? Right?

Leave a Reply

