Bangers & Mash

Here’s another one of those comfort foods my old neighbor shared with me back in the day. It can’t be any simpler than this. Yup! The English love their meat and potatoes, don’t they. And why not? It’s good!

I made my mash colcannon style. Besides butter and cream, I added some shredded and boiled cabbage and onions with a bit of roasted garlic and fresh thyme. Then I sprinkled it with ground mace to give it a different twist. Topped that with grilled Irish-style sausages, smothered with white mushroom gravy and… dinner’s ready.

Oh wait! Can’t forget the pint of bitter, too.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    I love bangers and mash. This looks fab!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

